Boycotted

Roanoke Beacon
13 January 1899

Letter dated 9 Jan 1899 from Long Ridge, NC. Addressed to the editor of the Roanoke Beacon.

On the 15th of April 1885, after a stay of one year in Plymouth, at which place I had been carrying on a Job Printing business, I left for Washington, N.C., to accept a position as Foreman in the Watch Tower office, then published by the lamented J.L. Winfield, which position I held until the acquisition of said paper in march 1886, when J.L. Winfield and Jno. A. Burgess purchased the Washington Gazette. I accepted a position with the new publishers which I held until the fall of 1886, when I engaged in a publishing business on my own book. It not proving renumerative, I returned to my home on Long Ridge in June 1887.

In August 1888, I built a small store at the Hollis Road, and engaged in a small mercantile business, which business I have carried on until today (Jan. 9, 1899).

Now hear me a little further. Being nurtured in Republicanism, I, of course, when becoming twenty-one years of age commenced voting with said party. In June 1891 I became disgusted with the misdeeds and corruption of said party, and cast my lot with the Democratic party, the party of Madison, Jefferson and Jackson; the party of the Constitution, justice and equity.

About 90 percent of my patrons were of course, of Republican faith, and a gradual boycot [sic] was commenced against me. But, notwithstanding, I have continued to maintain my integrity and stand by my principles regardless of results. We find in Holy writ, that “a Prophet is not without honor save in his own country, and among his own kindred.”

This is veritably true in my experience in business in this community. There is however, a few noble souls in this section, who have manliness not to persecute a kinsman or a neighbor, for his political affiliating.

I have this day retired from business, paid my last bill and placing my trust in Him who doeth all things well, I believe my friends will not allow me, nor my wife and little ones to suffer.

G.W. Jackson, Jr.

___________________________

G.W. Jackson Jr. was George Washington Jackson (1850-1917), son of George  Jackson Sr. and Lucy (Kelly) Jackson of Beaufort County, North Carolina.  GW Jr. was married to Louvenia Stillman (not sure about spelling), and according to census records, had at least 12 children, 10 of whom lived to the 1900 census.    

Leave a Reply

