Flipp – 20 Dec 1889

“Flipp”
December 20, 1889
Pg. 3

Mr. Editor – As this is your last issue for the year 1889, and as you say makes the Beacon six months old, allow me to congratulate you upon your success. I little thought when the Beacon flashed its rays before our people, that it would be here six months, but as you have held on so long without skipping the country I think there is a chance for you to hold on longer. From your columns, I see that the business men of our town are not giving you the support they ought in the way of advertising, that is the reason we cannot keep a good paper in the town, the men fail to give it the proper support.

Say editor, I went down to the Latham House Sunday night to have a little round with Col. L. S. Read, “Jack’s” pa, who has been stopping there for several days. Well, I got in the office and shook hands with the old gentleman, I think he is the jolliest and best hearted man I ever met, but before I could say more than two words I was all broke up by some of the loafers. Why man there were so many boys in that office the boarders and strangers had to stand up and the clerk, Mr. Smith, he had to stand out on the piazza. We saw one young man walk in and get mad because he could not get a rocking chair. I think Mr. Smith must have a good disposition or he would put the makehaste on some one. Of course I expected to see you, the editor of a newspaper there, but I must say I was surprised to see you occupying the lounge, while men like Mr. Read and I, had to stand up. It is natural that the young men want to be together but, they should not take charge of the hotel.

Well, Xmas is almost at hand and the average child is looking forward to its coming with joyous anticipation, and even the old folks, whose silvery locks allow that they have seen many Christmas days, will gladly welcome the coming. I look upon the coming of Christmas as one of the most sacred holidays of our nation, as the day draws near it brings together friends and relatives that may have been parted for months, or if by chance some loved one has wandered too far to return and mingle their joys with the rest around the family fire-side, their thoughts will be turned homeward. At this time, the girl or boy that has been absent at college are returning home to spend the Xmas vacation with their parents. Parents are busy preparing good things for the young folks, fond lovers are busy selecting presents for their sweethearts. Then remember the little ones, as on Christmas-eve night they hang up the little stocking for Santa Claus to fill, and retire with heart almost bursting with the happy thoughts of the morrow morning.

I suppose the Beacon will take a week’s vacation during the holidays, if so, let me give you some advice, don’t drink too much dram because it might cause some delay in the next issue of the paper.

“That wife of mine” says if I get drunk Christmas she will go home to her ma, she forgets her ma, has died since I got drunk last, but any way I shall try to stay sober and enjoy the holidays.

What has become of my “Tormentor” as he signs himself, has he met the fool-killer or committed suicide? If no accident has happened to him, I guess he will come out in the paper this week giving me rats. You will please inform him for me, that if he uses any more slander in his letters that I shall enter suit, having employed Mr. C. L. Pettigrew, one of the swiftest little lawyers in the state. Hon. S. B. Spruill, perhaps one of the steadiest and most successful attorneys that ever faced a jury, also A. O. Gaylord, a fine lawyer and perhaps as hard a man to down as ever stood before a Bar (I don’t mean a bar room). Mr. J. L. Whedbee has been employed as a body guard and will also appear before the jury.

On beating around the town Wednesday my attention was called to the crowd that were making for Bryan’s Drug Store, so I out of curiosity went in to see what the excitement was and guess what it was. I was surprised to see so many curious things in the way of Christmas presents, I tell you “Jack” is getting to the front, and that clerk, I tell you the truth he is a dandy. I bought several presents and left. — “Flipp.”

issuedec201889

Leave a Reply

