Flipp – 13 Dec 1889

“Flipp.”
December 13, 1889
Pg. 3

Mr. Editor: My time at Washington was spent in a most pleasant manner, I met many old friends and would be glad to give you some of the most interesting points but, since some crank has taken it upon himself to reply to my letters through your columns, I will drop the Washington trip and devote my time to a few remarks on his article. I fail to see what he has replied to but, as he […] a reply I will accept it as such.

He opens his letter by saying he does not know whether I am a gentleman or a grand rascal. I don’t suppose his knowing has anything to do with what I am. He says the Bible tells him to judge not, so it does but I wonder if this individual has read that book enough to know that it also speaks against slander, and has he sense enough to know that when he calls a man a rascal he is by law guilty of slander. We think he is either a brave man or a man with but little sense, to attack a man in such a manner without a cause. We do not think any gentleman would have opened a public letter by insinuating a man was a rascal.

In his first feeble effort he breakes the laws of his country and his God. He says he thinks I was among the crowd that went to Windsor, that is alright, this is a free country every man has a right to his own thought, no matter how unreasonable they may be. He says I was quite poetical in one of the back issues of the Beacon. Will he please inform me what date the issue was, if I ever wrote a line of poetry it is more than I know and doubtless he is the only reader of your paper that has ever seen that issue.

As to the advice he gives the young ladies about looking out for the man dressed in the garb he described, I would say he must think our girls have but little sense. Does he mean to insult them by giving them such silly advice? In the first place there is no such man in this town, again our girls are too pure and noble and have too many admirers to ever have to pop the question, and even if they were not admired, they have too much pride and intelligence to be going around popping the question to everything that wears pants.

I would like to know what his studying having a swelled head etc., has got to do with a reply to my letters.

He speaks of my going to Washington and says he don’t think I ever saw that town, well, that could have been possible, but I did not say I had been there, I only said I was going. I have been and am at home again, and did not get lost as he expected.

In writing up his trip on the Str. Bertie he gives a grand description of it. He said he was making the trip in company with some lady friends from Bertie but he goes on to say that one of the ladies broke the lamb and as the alarm of fire was given he rushed up stairs and found the room in a blaze. If he had been making the trip in company with the ladies, why was he on the first deck and they in the saloon? The only explanation I can give is this, he was on the same boat at the same time ladies were admitted to the saloon, while he was either beating his passage or had taken a second-class ticket and had to stay on the first deck. He said he got scared and going to the stern of the boat he made a cross on his forehead and knelt down to pray while kneeling there he went to sleep and was awakened by the Capt. asking for his fare. He says he got off at the first landing, but first tried to convince the captain that he was a man of learning. Now I know Capt. Pipkin and know it is useless for such a crack as that man is to try to make him think he had any learning and but little common sense.

Leave a Reply

