Flipp – 29 Nov 1889

“Flipp”
November 29, 1889
Pg. 3

Takes a trip to Jamesville – Has a conversation with one of the excursionist – Gives his view of this trip – Tells how a man got a ride – Sees a man fall in the creek – Says a word to husbands, etc., etc.

Mr. Editor – It seems that our people dislike to stay at home on the Sabbath day. On last Sunday there were several who went to Williamston on the train to spend the day. Quite a number drove through the country to Jamesville, and among that number were “Pesky Snipes” and myself. On my arrival I went down town, there in the midst of a large crowd, stood “Pesky” he was telling some joke as usual, and I think his subject was about that J & W Railroad.

While part of our town were there enjoying the gentle breezes of a more western climate, there was yet another crows that were off for a day away from this historic city. That party, composed of only four of our most popular young men, had chartered the steamer Armitage and gone to Windsor.

In a conversation with one of the party I got the following report, he said: “We left Plymouth at 8 o’clock in the morning and arrived at Windsor at 11. The day was spent quite pleasant until 5 pm, when we again boarded the little steamer for home, everything went lovely until about six miles down stream, when the Captain who was not altogether right, ran the boat into the woods, someone cried out that we were sinking, we grabbed as many little preservers we could carry and all four made our escape over the bow of the boat into the swamp leaving the captain and his crew to fill, as we expected, a watery grave. We wandered through the swamp for one hour without hearing a sound, when all at ones one of the boys yelled “bear” we made a rush for other parts. From the first, one of our crowd had made night hideouts by calling for help, but not until after we had been scared by the supposed bear, which was nothing more than one of our number who fell in the swamp, did any answer or living sound greet our ears, then it was we heard a voice. On going to it we found a man standing in the road, we thanked him for his kindness and asked him how far it was to windsor, on being told six miles we laid aside 150lb of life-preservers each, pulled off our shoes and started for Windsor where we arrived at 1 o’clock. Next morning we came home on the Bertie, and as these No. 11 feet of mine embraced old Plymouth’s grit again, I promised my Ma and my God that I would never take such a trip again on Sunday.”

I can imagine how those young men looked as with an excited rush they deserted that steamer and went plunging through the swamp, then after being scared almost to death, I can see their faces grow bright as through the darkness there comes the voice of a rescuer. Then again methinks I see the bright smile, from their visage fade, adn I can hear the slow dull thump of those heavy hearts as they are told six miles. Then editor, imagine what a picture those young men made, as they took from their backs all the life preservers they had brought from the ill fated steamer sit down and taking off their shoes tied them together and swinging them over their shoulder they march on up the road in the darkness, then see them as they march through the deserted streets of the town where only a few hours before they had said good bye to their “beat” girl and left for home with light hearts. Then see them again as in the early dawn they board the steamer Bertie and the Captain refuses to admit them, with their muddy and torn garments to first class fare, and they have to be shoved away in the dark recesses of the freight room like so many tramps.

“What fools some mortals be?” I think the most anxious man for a ride I ever saw was that dark haired gentleman who walked to Jamesville on Sunday last to get a ride back on the train. I asked him why he did not go out in the morning and be said he got left, but if that train comes back I will ride or fight.” guess he got that ride. I left him at 4 o’clock sitting in the middle of the track waving a red bandana.

I understand that some of the gentler sex did not like the way I scared “that wife of mine” with a mouse. Really, I am sorry if any of them are mad, but think if all husbands would use the same mouse trick more comfortable. You had as well try to reverse the moon or feel safe near the rear of a mule as to try to jaw with a woman. She will always have the last word and if you are not sharp she will say every word and make you believe yourself unworthy to be a man. I have adopted the mouse as my wife subduer, and it works like a charm.

One of our most popular counter hoppers was out to the mill yesterday with several other young men and while there he saw some men rafting logs. Thinking himself as smart as the raftmen he mounted a log to help them. That log took a turn. That boy took a fall and I never saw a man so wet and scared in my life. He crawled up on a log to dry out after shaking the bark all off he found more comfortable quarters in a nigger hut near by where he was dried out and sent home.
Well as tomorrow is Thanksgiving, I guess our town will be quiet. I had a fine turkey up fatning for that day but I found this morning that some one else had him and the coop is empty so I will feast on fried herring while the individual who stoled my turkey will be making arrangement for his burial cause let me tell you that turkey has been fed on danymite for the last ten days and the man that tackels him will have a fine time.

Say I am going to Washington next week and I will write up the trip. — Flipp.

issuenov291889

Leave a Reply

